Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Is Vibe a complete desk lamp or only a clip-on video light?
OttLite lists one Black CS309G5W configuration and describes a complete lamp with a 6.25-inch tabletop base, a 13.75–16.5-inch adjustable height and a flexible neck. The manufacturer lists video calls and photography alongside reading and crafting; the reviewed instructions show base use, not a clip or monitor attachment.
Explore this need in the finder →What charging setup does the Vibe actually require?
The manual names an internal 3.7 V, 1,500 mAh lithium-ion battery and a 5 V / 0.5 A USB input using the included charging cable. It can work from the battery or while connected to USB power; an adapter is not included. The manual does not state runtime or charge time and says the battery is not replaceable.
Does its published color value establish broad desk coverage?
OttLite lists CRI 95+ and a 5.5-inch ring with 360-degree dimmable illumination, but no width at 500 lux or center illuminance. The CRI claim is not an independent test and does not establish the questionnaire's 90 cm-at-500-lux requirement.
Explore this need in the finder →A rechargeable ring lamp that is also a desk lamp
OttLite’s U.S. listing identifies a single Black Vibe Rechargeable LED Ring Desk Lamp, SKU CS309G5W, and its instruction sheet names the same code. The product is not merely a clip-on camera light: the manufacturer describes it for reading and crafting as well as calls and photography, and the instructions show it assembled on a tabletop base. That makes it relevant to a desk-lamp shortlist, although its ring-shaped head has a different lighting job from a long linear shade or an articulated arm lamp.
The ring head is listed at 5.5 inches across, while the tabletop base measures 6.25 inches in diameter. The flexible neck adjusts the stated overall height from 13.75 to 16.5 inches. Those dimensions help check whether the lamp can sit beside a keyboard or notebook, but they are not a reach map and do not show how far the head can be moved across a desk. The reviewed instructions describe the base and neck only; they do not establish a clip, clamp, detachable pole or monitor-mount arrangement.
Three color modes and touch dimming, without a stated lux footprint
OttLite lists warm white, bright white and its ClearSun natural-daylight mode, plus a CRI of 95 or higher. The manual explains that a tap changes the color mode and holding the top control adjusts brightness until the desired level is reached. It does not quantify separate brightness steps, color temperatures in kelvin, center illuminance or a width at 500 lux. The published CRI is a manufacturer specification, not an independent color test. It can answer a narrowly defined request for a published Ra 95-plus lamp, but it says nothing by itself about how much of a work surface will be lit.
The circular light source is promoted as providing 360-degree dimmable illumination. That describes the ring format; it should not be turned into a claim that every desk area receives even light or that the Vibe meets a 90-centimeter width at 500 lux. If a broad paper-and-screen field is essential, use a model with that exact threshold documented rather than extrapolating from the shape or CRI. The manufacturer names reading and crafting as uses, but no photometric result or hands-on assessment is claimed here.
Portable power means a separate charging routine
The lamp has a built-in 3.7-volt, 1,500-mAh lithium-ion battery and can operate from its battery or while connected to USB power. OttLite lists the charging input as 5 volts at 0.5 amp, and the instructions show a micro-USB cable connected at the rear underside. A charging cable is listed as included, but a USB power adapter is not. The manual says the indicator changes from red to green when the battery is fully charged and that a dimming light on battery power means the battery needs recharging. It does not state a run time or charge time, so the capacity should not be converted into an hours-of-use promise.
Battery portability is a meaningful difference from the corded Prevention lamp, but it brings service limits: the manual says the battery is not replaceable and the integrated light source is not replaceable. It also says to keep the lamp indoors and to avoid forcing the ring or neck past its permitted adjustment range. A buyer who expects to keep a lamp for a long time should weigh those manufacturer cautions against the convenience of moving it without routing a mains cord.
How it differs from nearby desk-lamp choices
Compared with OttLite’s Switch 3-in-1, Vibe keeps its light on an integral base and gives a ring head with three named color modes. The Switch’s separate rechargeable head can move between its base and included clip, but the reviewed Black Switch instructions list only three touch brightness settings and no numeric coverage width. Vibe is not a substitute for that clip function. Compared with the corded Prevention model, Vibe adds battery operation but does not document the latter’s Qi pad or wired 5-volt, 2.1-amp USB output. These are actual package and operating differences, not a claim that one lamp is brighter or more comfortable.
The assessment fits a buyer seeking rechargeable tabletop lighting and a round head for a small work zone, with reading and craft use among the maker’s stated activities. It is a weaker evidence match when required coverage, run time, a replaceable battery, clip mounting or specific task illuminance is non-negotiable. Before choosing one, confirm the Black SKU CS309G5W, the included USB cable, the power adapter you will supply, and the amount of base space. No ownership, durability, charging-time, color-quality or illumination test is claimed.
Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Lowest listed color rendering index (Ra) | 95 |
|---|---|
| Documented tabletop arrangements | Tabletop base |
| Internal battery capacity | 1500 mAh |
| Highest listed lamp height | 16.5 in |
| Listed base diameter | 6.25 in |
| USB-C charging cable included | Yes |
| Power adapter included | No |
| User-replaceable light source | No |
| Lowest listed lamp height | 13.75 in |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
Put your desk requirements together
A lamp’s specifications are only useful when they fit your workspace. Use the finder to compare documented mount and adjustment arrangements.