Model assessment · OttLite

OttLite Switch 3-in-1 Rechargeable Task Lamp (Black and White) review

A USB-C-rechargeable task light whose magnetic head can be used on its desk base, its clip, or as a handheld light; this shared assessment covers the Black and White U.S. variants.

Sources checked 2026-10-29 · Our editorial approach

Review the exact model, limitations and buying checks on BuyerShortlists before choosing a seller. We may earn from qualifying purchases.

Official OttLite image of the black Switch 3-in-1 lamp head attached to its narrow pole and round desk base.
Manufacturer image: black Switch 3-in-1 on its desk base. Image: OttLite
A useful fit for

A research-led fit candidate for localized desk tasks when one rechargeable light needs to move between a tabletop stand, a clip on a suitable support, and handheld use.

The main tradeoff

The reviewed source pages give no battery-runtime or light-coverage specification, the wall adapter is not included, and the integrated light source is not user-replaceable.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Can I move the light from its desk base to a clip or handheld arrangement?

For Black CSR07G5W-SHPR and White OTTCSR0708C, the current product page links the same Switch instruction sheet, whose printed model family includes CSR0700C and the Black SKU. The manual shows the magnetic light attaching to the supplied base/pole or included clip and also being used handheld; it describes a suitable support such as a desk or shelf but gives no clip-jaw thickness range.

Explore this need in the finder →
What can be established about battery use and charging?

The manual lists an internal 3.7 V, 1,200 mAh lithium battery and USB-C input at 5 V / 1 A. It says the lamp works from its internal battery or while connected to USB-C. It does not state a runtime or charge time; the USB-C cable is listed, while a power adapter is not included.

Is its published color-rendering value useful for color-detail work?

OttLite publishes CRI 95+ for this model. That is a manufacturer specification, not an independent sample test; the reviewed pages do not publish a lux level, 500-lux coverage width, or selectable color-temperature range.

Explore this need in the finder →

The OttLite Switch 3-in-1 is not a conventional long-arm desk lamp. Its central idea is a small rechargeable light head that detaches magnetically and can move between a desk stand, a clip, and handheld use. This shared assessment covers the Black U.S. SKU CSR07G5W-SHPR and White U.S. SKU OTTCSR0708C. OttLite’s current product record lists the two separate variants, and the manufacturer attaches the Switch instruction sheet to that same page. Its printed model list includes the White-image family code CSR0700C and the Black retail code. The variants share the manual-described use arrangements; their exact codes and images remain separate below. This review is based on manufacturer sources, not independent photometric or hands-on testing.

Official OttLite image of the White Switch 3-in-1 light, variant image associated with current SKU OTTCSR0708C
Manufacturer image: White Switch 3-in-1 · current SKU OTTCSR0708C / variant 43036061663286. The product JSON links this image to the White option; it identifies appearance, not performance.

Three arrangements, one magnetic light

The manual describes three uses: desk light, clip-on light, and portable handheld light. For the desk arrangement, the pole screws into the base and the light’s magnet attaches to a metal ball at the pole’s top. For clip use, the same light connects to a metal ball on the clip, which the instructions say to fasten to a suitable support such as a desk or shelf. Used alone, the light becomes a compact handheld source. The magnetic joint swivels so the head can be angled rather than held in one fixed direction.

This flexibility is real but should not be confused with a long articulated arm or a universal desk clamp. OttLite gives the stand height as 14.6 inches and the base diameter as 4.75 inches, but the sources do not document a reach envelope, clip-jaw capacity, or fit limits for a particular shelf or desk edge. The clip arrangement can clear the tabletop, while the supplied base gives a more familiar stand; each depends on a different support surface. Check that surface before choosing this model for a crowded workstation.

Battery and controls: useful facts, missing runtime

The manual identifies an internal 3.7-volt, 1,200-mAh lithium-ion battery. It also says the light operates either from that battery or while connected to a USB-C power source rated at 5 volts and 1 amp. Three touch-selected brightness levels are documented: one, two, or three touches for the settings, then a fourth touch to switch off. The product page calls the lamp dimmable, but this is stepped control rather than a published continuous dimming range.

The USB-C charging cable is listed with the product; a power adapter is not included. OttLite does not specify a battery runtime, a charge time, or an approved replacement-battery procedure in the reviewed materials. The 1,200-mAh rating is not enough to calculate useful hours of light, so buyers who need a dependable long shift away from USB power should not treat “rechargeable” as a runtime guarantee. Plugged-in operation is documented, but the exact placement of a cable may matter when the head is attached to a clip or moved around a work area.

Lighting claims and what remains unknown

OttLite publishes CRI 95+ and describes its ClearSun LEDs as reducing eyestrain by up to 51 percent. Those are manufacturer claims, not measurements reproduced here. The product page does not provide a center illuminance, a coverage width at a stated lux level, a lumen output, or a selectable color-temperature range for this SKU. Three brightness settings tell you that the light can be stepped, not how much area each setting will illuminate. For broad paper-and-screen coverage, BenQ’s e-Reading lamp has a more specific manufacturer-published width at 500 lux and articulated arm configuration; Switch’s documented advantage is portability and alternate support, not a substantiated larger light field.

OttLite’s instructions also say the LED light source is not replaceable by the consumer and that the whole luminaire must be replaced when the source reaches end of life. That is an important ownership tradeoff for a rechargeable product. The listed battery capacity does not establish battery longevity, and the sources reviewed do not describe a field-replaceable battery or repair path. The manual limits use to indoors.

Who should shortlist it

This is a plausible research-based candidate when the same light needs to move between a desk stand and a clip-supported location, when a rechargeable mode is useful, or when a handheld option has practical value. A maker who works at different surfaces may value the three configurations more than a tall swing arm. It is less well supported for a large desk that needs a verified coverage width, for users who need an exact runtime or output rating, or for anyone expecting a mains adapter in the box.

Compared with the BenQ e-Reading model already covered on this site, the trade is straightforward: BenQ publishes a 90 cm width at 500 lux on its product page and specification page, while OttLite gives no comparable coverage figure for Switch. BenQ also documents a broad articulated desktop setup and a separately sold compatible clamp; OttLite documents a shorter stand, a clip part within its product instructions, battery operation, and a detachable hand-held light. The two are not interchangeable answers to the same mounting request. A clip-on head may be convenient on a shelf, but the product page does not supply a clip opening measurement or establish compatibility with a particular desk.

Check the exact finish and package

The current White retail code OTTCSR0708C differs from the manual’s printed white family code CSR0700C. The source bridge is the manufacturer’s current two-variant product page: it lists Black CSR07G5W-SHPR and White OTTCSR0708C, attaches the shared Switch instructions naming CSR0700C and CSR07G5W-SHPR, and the current JSON binds the White variant ID to its CSR0700C image. I treat this as a shared functional color family, not as proof of a new white-only capability. Before ordering, match either exact code and confirm the base, pole, clip and USB-C cable in the offer; budget for a suitable USB power source because the adapter is not included. The head itself is not user-replaceable, and the reviewed material does not promise a field-replacement battery.

Key specifications

Key details at a glance

Lowest listed color rendering index (Ra)95
Brightness levels3
Documented tabletop arrangementsIncluded tabletop base and pole / Included clip on a suitable desk or shelf support / Handheld light head
Internal battery capacity1200 mAh
Highest listed lamp height14.6 in
Listed base diameter4.75 in
USB-C charging cable includedYes
Power adapter includedNo
User-replaceable light sourceNo

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this review

Sources for this assessment

Put your desk requirements together

A lamp’s specifications are only useful when they fit your workspace. Use the finder to compare documented mount and adjustment arrangements.

In this review