Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Can I choose a tabletop base or an included clamp configuration?
Yes. The current US feed lists three Desktop Base and three Clamp Mount NV4E SKUs. The product page separately shows Arctic White wireless-charging-base item code NV3EQW-, which is absent from the current store feed. Confirm the precise code and package; this does not establish desk fit.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the current US Nova configuration establish a 90 cm beam at 500 lux?
No. The product page describes even illumination but does not state a width at the 500-lux threshold used by this finder.
Explore this need in the finder →Is Nova documented for Ra 95 color-detail work or automatic paper/screen modes?
No on both points in the reviewed sources: Humanscale lists CRI 91+, and the PIR sensor is an occupancy control, not paired paper and screen modes.
Explore this need in the finder →One Nova name, several materially different setups
Humanscale presents Nova as a multi-mount task light, but a family name is not a complete order description. The current U.S. store record that I checked lists 12 NV4E variants: Arctic White, Jet Black and Light Gray, each offered as Desktop Base, Clamp Mount, Universal Slatwall or Wall Mount. This assessment covers the six desk-supported NV4E choices: NV4EBW, NV4EBB and NV4EBG for the base, and NV4ECW, NV4ECB and NV4ECG for the clamp. Those exact store records all say 4000 K (Cool White). The U.S. product page also shows a separate Arctic White Nova Wireless Charging Base configuration, code NV3EQW-, in its product gallery. That configuration is absent from the current store feed, so I treat it as a distinct maker-listed base setup—not as one of the 12 current NV4E store variants and not as proof of current seller availability. The six wall/slatwall options are separate mounting configurations and are not silently treated as tabletop or desk-edge models here.
There is a real temperature discrepancy to resolve before a color preference drives a purchase. Humanscale's product page promotes a warm 3000 K Nova, but its captured U.S. NV4E product record lists only 4000 K for the six desk-base and clamp variants above. The same page displays the NV3EQW- wireless-base code, but the stored U.S. sources do not map its exact temperature or current online-store availability. I therefore do not assign 3000 K to that code or describe it as one of the NV4E choices. Check the exact code and written offer if warmer light is essential; a general marketing statement cannot identify a SKU in a cart.
Movement and light claims are not a reach map
The Nova page describes lower and upper arm sections of about 15.9 and 15 inches and lists 32.75 inches of maximum reach. Its product images show the same linked two-section structure. That is useful evidence for a two-link positioning question, but not a diagram of every reachable point above a particular desk. The page's “Forever Hinges” language is a durability statement from the manufacturer, not a test I performed. Measure the available route around a monitor and any shelf, and ask for the exact setup drawing if a collision would rule the lamp out.
Humanscale describes its layered light guide as producing even illumination, with CRI 91+ and 7 W consumption. The product page does not state a 90 cm width at 500 lux, so an even-beam description is not enough to pass that numeric requirement. Nor does the occupancy feature turn into the reviewer's paper/screen modes: the stated passive-infrared sensor detects body heat within one metre, turns the light on when someone is present, and shuts it off after 15 minutes with no presence. That is occupancy automation, not ambient sensing that selects separate paper and display settings.
Choose the support and confirm the package
The Desktop Base configurations are the direct choice when a freestanding foot on the work surface is acceptable. Humanscale separately labels the NV3EQW- form as a Wireless Charging Base in Arctic White; that page image shows an additional charging-area detail, but the current store feed does not include the code and the reviewed source set gives no charging wattage, device compatibility list or exact temperature for it. Treat wireless charging as a distinct configuration feature to verify, not something included with every Nova. The Clamp Mount codes are the product's explicitly named clamp setup, rather than a claim that a separate universal clamp can be attached to any Nova. The product page does not publish a clamp-jaw range or desk-edge conditions in enough detail to infer fit. Confirm the exact NV4EC code, desktop thickness, edge shape and clearance in current instructions or written seller details. Base, clamp and wireless-charging base are different catalog configurations, not parts this review assumes arrive together.
Touch control adjusts brightness across the maker-stated 14–100% range and remembers the last selected level. That makes it a straightforward manual dimmer, but the sources do not give a count of discrete steps. The integrated LED is rated at 7 W and the page advertises a ten-year warranty; confirm the actual warranty terms for the exact offer. The same page's sustainability language and long-life aspirations are not a reason to assume that the LED module is user-replaceable, because the sources reviewed here do not establish that service procedure.
Who should compare it, and what remains open
Nova merits a closer look when a two-section arm, touch dimming, an occupancy shutoff, and a choice between a tabletop base and a listed desk clamp are the useful distinctions. It is not the evidence-backed pick for someone who needs a published 90 cm-at-500-lux width, Ra 95 or higher, or automatic paper and screen modes: those requirements are not established by the sources here. Its CRI 91+ is below the Ra 95 filter, and its PIR function is different from paper/screen sensing.
For a simpler, single-arm base design, compare the four currently recorded finish variants of the Humanscale Horizon 2.0. For another two-section arm with a 35-inch reach, nine brightness steps and a separately coded clamp configuration, compare the Linen White Infinity review; Infinity is specified at 3000 K and CRI 90, so the two models should not be collapsed into one light-quality claim. This assessment is based on Humanscale's U.S. product page, current store variant data and the exact product images, not hands-on use, measured lux, stock checking or a seller-price comparison. Check the retail code, mount, temperature and package in the offer you are considering.
Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Lowest listed color rendering index (Ra) | 91 |
|---|---|
| Linked arm sections | 2 |
| Maximum power | 7 W |
| Documented tabletop arrangements | Desktop Base: NV4EBW, NV4EBB, or NV4EBG / Clamp Mount: NV4ECW, NV4ECB, or NV4ECG |
| Listed arm reach | 32.75 in |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
Put your desk requirements together
A lamp’s specifications are only useful when they fit your workspace. Use the finder to compare documented mount and adjustment arrangements.
